What day is it, again?

IMG_3529

Unless it is the Sabbath, I have no clue what day it is. So, after looking at the calendar, today is Monday. Today, Layla has been doing good. Sometimes, doing good to me means she’s on this side of the ground, if you get what I mean (not dead). Silly, but true. I mean, good to me means that she hasn’t had too many hiccups in the day.

So, today’s update: Layla threw up this morning (you probably LOVE hearing about her vomit diaries), which led the surgeons to deciding to put her on Prilosec. Prilosec is for heartburn/acid reflux, or what Kelsey calls “Flux Flux and Reflux”. Our nurse calls Prilosec the “Old Man’s Drug”. Appropriate. Anyway, she starts that drug tomorrow. She is, however off a few drip systems: the fats and her lipids. Are those the same things? Anyway, there are two things that she’s off of. And one of those are it. She is on a sugar water drip for her IV just to keep the line open. We hope she doesn’t have to have anything else. But she is on Tylenol, as needed, as well as sometimes morphine. I mean, she did have some mega surgery 2 weeks ago, after all.

So, that’s about it.

Last week we went to Powell’s City of Books (my favorite store in Portland), and I picked up this gem:

image (77)

 

I wish I had the guts to give them out.

I also took this of Kelsey, as per Kelsey:

image (76)

 

Yesterday, Aaron held Layla, and I’m almost 100% sure that he didn’t hate it. The percentage that I’m not sure of was when she cried while he was holding her.

image (75)

 

They (Aaron, Kirsten, and Ethan) left today. Sad, sad, sad, twice. I really miss them.

photo (4)

 

 

I was reading in the Book of Mormon the other day, and a passage really struck a chord with me. It is from Alma, chapter 38, verse 6: Now, my son, I would not that ye should think that I know these things of myself, but it is the Spirit of God which is in me which maketh these things known unto me; for if I had not been born of God I should not ave known these things.” I’ve been hearing the comment that I’ve been really calm and stable throughout this situation. I mean, no postpartum depression, no freak-outs, no major crying/heaving sobs/panic attacks, etc. And it isn’t just that I am a strong person. It is because of prayer. And mostly, prayers of those around me. I really couldn’t go through this situation without God. He puts wonderful people in my life, like you, who pray for us, constantly and consistently, and we become carried, and our burdens become light. So, really, thanks.

IMG_3530

 

 

 

 

One thought on “What day is it, again?

Leave a comment